Did aptera really take this long to decide on mppt solar charge controllers

Aptera Community Aptera Discussions Did aptera really take this long to decide on mppt solar charge controllers

Aptera Community Aptera Discussions Did aptera really take this long to decide on mppt solar charge controllers

• Did aptera really take this long to decide on mppt solar charge controllers

Llewellyn Evans updated 2 months ago 6 Members · 14 Posts
  • seth feldman

April 30, 2022 at 11:40 am

I’m no solar expert, but I thought mppt was the obvious choice for a modern solar charge controller that cared about efficiency or total output. They just released a video making it sound like a breakthrough that they came up with. I think the question who knows anything about solar would be how the curved arrays affect output, and how many microinverters they would need to avoid voltage/amperage output drops from the entire array. I hope John Malcolm is correct and they have “experts working on every aspect of the vehicle” and this is just a case of a rather uninformed video editor, because posting an mppt video like it’s a breakthrough they just came up with doesn’t really fill me with confidence in their engineers.

• Gary Greenway

April 30, 2022 at 1:29 pm

I too was disappointed with this video. Maybe the marketing department is still in ‘making cartoons for children’ mode. You know the engineers must cringe whenever they watch these videos. In any case, it reflects poorly on a tech company to release this simplistic content.

• Ray Holan

May 1, 2022 at 10:34 am