FWD vs. AWD Efficiency

Aptera Community Aptera Discussions FWD vs. AWD Efficiency

Aptera Community Aptera Discussions FWD vs. AWD Efficiency

• FWD vs. AWD Efficiency

John Malcom updated 1 month, 3 weeks ago 5 Members · 10 Posts
  • Christien Bibler

May 2, 2022 at 8:33 pm

I’ve recently preordered a vehicle and selected AWD but I’m still not quite sure on whether or not to stick with AWD. A large concern/curiosity is will having AWD then reduce my max range? I chose the 400 mile battery but is it only actually 400 miles when it’s just FWD? If so what would be the actual range for the AWD setup? Apologies for the ignorance on EV’s this is my first time I’ve even looked into and EV before let alone considered.

• kerbe2705

May 2, 2022 at 9:38 pm

@Christien Bibler The point of this forum is to educate and inform – so your question is welcome. You might also consider using the “search” function in the future because this question has been asked before.

Remember that 400 miles of range is a “perfect world” situation: You’ve heard the phrase, “Your mileage may vary”? Same thing applies to EVs. Just like an ICE (internal combustion engine) vehicle, go uphill and the range (mpg) drops, go fast and the range (mpg) drops, drive in the cold and the range (mpg) drops, drive with the heat or the AC running and the range (mpg) drops, drive in the wind or rain and the range (mpg) drops…

You also don’t want to “fill the tank to full” all the time: Lithium Ion batteries like to stay between 20% and 80% full. Interestingly, that’s when they charge the fastest. So think of your “usual” range as being 80% of 400 miles, or 320 miles. Now – because you can’t predict the weather or always know the traffic or road conditions – think about cutting another 10% just in case – and you can pretty much count on always having at least 288 miles of range.