Tire Changing

Aptera Community Aptera Discussions Tire Changing

Aptera Community Aptera Discussions Tire Changing

• Tire Changing

Boz O’Clown updated 2 months ago 8 Members · 12 Posts
  • Donny Wilbanks

April 25, 2022 at 5:11 pm

I am new to the auto-cycle, and don’t ride motor cycles myself. Many of my friends have had to ditch their bikes because of bad drivers. The Aptera being something people will be able to see makes a big difference. I have a question with the motor and breaks in the wheel? How hard would it be to change a flat tire? I usually just jack the car up, pull off the old one and then place the new spare on. Got a video to show us what is involved?

• Curtis Cibinel

April 25, 2022 at 5:24 pm

Standard hand tools are expected to be able to remove the wheel pants in under 30 seconds (potentially without tools – still in development – See video by Aptera Owners Club). From this it is no different than a car – jack it up and change the wheel. We will not have a spare included (normal for any vehicle in the last 10 years) but if you are planning to offroad their is plenty of storage in the back to put another full size tire or smaller spare tire. Tires are 195/45 R16

• Donny Wilbanks

April 25, 2022 at 5:31 pm

I was worried that I would have to disconnect powerlines and break fluid lines. I just found a YouTube video explaining how it should work. I myself am not a fan of just the fill the wounded tire with sealant and an air compressor. So I like having a spare ready to go. This car is looking better with each iteration. Thanks.

• Peter Jorgensen

April 26, 2022 at 7:53 am

Here are some pictures of Aptera’s wheels and hub motors. The green thing is the hub motor. The wheel bolts on with lugnuts like a normal car. The hub motor just fits inside like a drum brake.

• Francis Giroux

April 26, 2022 at 6:20 pm

So where is this video showing how it should work?