Towing solar panels

Aptera Community Aptera Discussions Towing solar panels

Aptera Community Aptera Discussions Towing solar panels

• Towing solar panels

Posted by miahallen on March 7, 2023 at 3:07 pm

I’m a solar professional in Belize and excited at the “open source” ideology expressed by the Aptera team (eg DIY repairs). I live in Belize and support here will be lacking….so this is a very important aspect of a purchase decision like this. I’m also an avid DIY’er and am very curious about this statement…..I love the idea of road tripping towing a small trailer with several more solar panels to increase my daily solar range…. Would Aptera be willing to discuss the DC charging capabilities of the onboard port? Will it be possible to array solar on a trailer for increased charging-while-driving? I could easily build a trailer with an additional 1.2KW of solar to nearly triple my daily solar range (3x400W panels), but the DC voltage would only be about 132V nominal….would this be usable? Any more details would be appreciated, thanks.

Jeremiah Allen replied 1 year, 1 month ago 7 Members · 13 Replies
  • 13 Replies
  • Towing solar panels

Jeremiah Allen updated 1 year, 1 month ago 7 Members · 13 Replies
  • miahallen

March 7, 2023 at 3:09 pm

This is a solar golf cart I built in 2020….sold it to a couple who use it almost everyday and have never charged it with an external charger…

• john-malcom

March 7, 2023 at 5:31 pm

We know for sure that towing capability will not be a part of the production Aptera at this time. It may be added at a later date. I believe there was a plan to support the plug in of additional solar panels, but suspect that will not be included in the currently spect’d LE.

• This reply was modified 1 year, 2 months ago by  John Malcom. Reason: Correct spelling
  • joshua-rosen

March 7, 2023 at 7:37 pm